RSS

The best gift ever….

28 Dec

I must admit that I have been in a very depressed state the last month or so after I dropped my computer and lost so many memories.  No just photos, videos, and music.  I also lost all of my 2013 work documents and all of my progress on the second book I was writing.  I’ve really been beating myself up.  If I hadn’t let it slip off of the counter, if I had been more responsible, more diligent.  If only I had backed up my documents. 

The what if’s are endless.  I just kind of gave up and resigned myself to the fact that maybe bad things happen for a reason and I should just give in and give up.  All of this negative mojo made it very difficult to get in the holiday spirit.  But I received one of the most thoughtful gifts for Christmas.  While I have been moping around, my family snuck and had my computer fixed.  All of my documents are still gone, but the unwavering faith my family has in me is quite humbling.  They don’t want me to give up, they want me to keep writing.  Their love and support was enough to make me shape up and snap out of my doom and gloom mentality. 

So, I already know what my New Year’s resolution will be…to keep working and do everything in my power not to let them down.  Oh, and maybe not drop my computer again, like ever. 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The best gift ever….

  1. tedwardredd

    December 28, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Please don’t stop writing. Yeah it blows when stuff like this happen but try to look at it from a bright perspective. You lost your story but you also gained ideas and experience from writing. So maybe now you can write an even better story. Hang in there. I’m following you. You have my support 🙂 keep writing.

     
    • bkpethtel

      December 28, 2013 at 11:54 pm

      I have to say it is refreshing to read information from someone who is clearly as enthused about writing as me. I read through some of your other blogs and had to laugh. Create Space is awesome, but figuring out the formatting is tough. I’m not the most artistic person either, so the cover was hard for me. It doesn’t draw you in, but after you read the book, the cover makes more sense. I love my characters. They are rich and diverse. If I closed my eyes I would swear they were real. And nothing gets me more than a good romance novel, so I look forward to reading your work. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

       
      • tedwardredd

        December 29, 2013 at 12:26 am

        Anytime and thank you

         

Leave a Reply

 
Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Erika Fuego

To Love Yourself is your Greatest Revolution.

Wisdom is Found Through Experience

le Silence de Sion © 2012-2014

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

The Blabbermouth Blog

Literary Agent Linda Epstein's Yakkety Yakking

Chopping Potatoes

And other metaphors for motherhood

A Nine Pound Hammer....or a woman like you, either one of these will do

Sparks from the anvil while exploring life and America's treasures-South of the Mason Dixon line

Patrice Caldwell

Writer. Editor. Introvert Gone Wild.

fictionfanaticandromance

I'm just a guy who decided to stop sleeping but kept dreaming. I'm Edward Redd and I write novels. Come get blown away by my imagination.

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

write meg!

Another take on writing, reading, loving -- and eating

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

And Then There Was One

a story of the truth

The Return of the Modern Philosopher

Deep Thoughts from the Shallow End of the Pool

The Jenny Mac Book Blog

Jenny Mac and the Man of Secrets

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

write something worth reading

do something worth writing

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

